To obtain an North Carolina Dealer License, you can call the North Carolina Department of Transportation Division of Motor Vehicles at 919-715-7000 or follow the North Carolina Dealer License Steps below.
The first step in obtaining a North Carolina Dealer License is to request a North Carolina Dealer License Application from the North Carolina Department of Transportation. Just call 919-715-7000 to request your dealer application packet.
Before you obtain your North Carolina Dealer Dealers License the North Carolina Department of Transportation requires you to own or lease a business building. Your business building must have at least 96 square feet of space. Your building must be a permanently enclosed building and it may not be a residence. You must keep all business records that are associated with your North Carolina Dealer License in this building at all times. You business building must meet all local zoning requirements and be allowed to operate a motor vehicle dealership as are required by all local regulations.
You business building must have a business sign permanently attached to the building or erected in the display lot. Your dealership name must be located on the sigh and be at least 3 inches high in block letters. You business sign must be visible from the nearest roadway in order for you to obtain your NC Dealer license.
Before you obtain your North Carolina Dealer License you must show the North Carolina Department of Transportation that you have an active NC Dealer Garage Insurance Policy. Your dealer insurance policy will protect your customers when they are test driving your vehicles and will protect you if someone is injured on your lot. You must have a current North Carolina Dealer Garage Policy in effect before you are granted a North Carolina Dealer License. You may obtain you North Carolina Dealer Insurance by clicking here.
You will be required to obtain a North Carolina Dealer Surety Bond in the amount of $50,000 for your first North Carolina Dealership. Each additional North Carolina Dealership will require a $25,000 dealer bond. North Carolina Dealer bonds are available from most North Carolina insurance agents. The price of your dealer bond is dependent on your credit score. Good credit will allow you to purchase a $50,000 North Carolina Dealer Surety bond for about $300 per year. If your credit is blemished, your dealer surety bond could be much higher. Be sure to get multiple quotes on your North Carolina Dealer Bond as bond prices vary greatly from insurance agent to insurance agent.
The North Carolina Department of Transportation requires al North Carolina Dealers to follow all Federal Dealer Requirements. Be sure to download your ADTA Dealer Ethics, Profit, and Compliance Manual to stay current on all Federal Dealer Laws
You must show the North Carolina Department of Transportation that you have a current Traders License from your city or county before you are issued a North Carolina Dealers License. Just call your local City Hall or County Commission and ask how to obtain your Traders License. Be sure to include a copy of your Traders License in your NC Dealer Application
If you incorporate your business, you must include copies of your North Carolina Articles of Incorporation with your dealer application packet. For more information on how to incorporate your business in North Carolina, visit the North Carolina Secretary of States office.
The North Carolina Department of Transportation requires you to submit proof that you have filed with the Register of Deeds in the county in which your dealership is located. Just contact your County commission to make sure your North Carolina Dealer License name has bed filed with your local Register of Deeds.
Anyone applying for a NC Dealer License for the first time
must show the
Department of Transportation they have attended
a North Carolina Dealer License Class within the last 12 months. Just
K3 Automotive Corp
13200 Strickland Rd.
Before you mail your dealer license application, you will be required to have your lot inspected to show the State of North Carolina that you have met the minimum physical lot requirements. You will need to make an appointment with an agent with the North Carolina License and Theft Bureau to do an NC Dealer License Inspection. Just call 919-715-7000 to make an appointment for your inspection. Be sure to do this before mailing in your dealer license application packet.
When you have completed all steps below just mail your North Carolina Dealer License Application packet to the NC Department of Transportation Before you mail your dealer application packet you must call 919-715-7000 to make sure you are including all the required documents along with your correct license fees. If you forget one document or the correct fees it can hold your NC Dealers license process up from 5 to 8 weeks. Mail your NC Dealer Application packet to:
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Registration Section
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3148
For Federal Compliance issues that affect every North Carolina Dealer be
sure to order your
Ethics, Profit, and Compliance Manual.