To find out how to get an Florida Dealer License, you can call the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at 850-617-3003 or follow these step by step Florida Dealer License instructions.
In order for you to start your application process of a Florida Dealer License, you must download a Florida Dealer License Application Form HSMV 86056. You can call 850-617-3003 to have Florida Dealer License Application Form HSMV 86056 mailed to you or you can download your Florida Dealer License Application here
You must have a business building before you are granted a Florida Dealer License. You must have an office with appropriate office furniture. Your business location cannot be a residence. You must store all of your official Florida Dealers License records at this location. You will need to keep records of all sales and be ready to produce these records to any official with the State of Florida that is conducting an official records inspection. You may have your Dealer License records inspected at any time and the records must be located at your business at all times. You must prove to the state that you own or lease the business. Proof of ownership or a copy of your lease must be provided with your Florida Dealer License Application. You dealership must be the primary business at your licensed location.
You must provide the State of Florida with a Florida Dealer Surety bond in the amount of $25,000 or an irrevocable letter of credit before obtaining your Florida Dealer License. Dealer bonds and irrevocable letters of credit are designed to protect Florida motor vehicle buyers from fraudulent dealers. If you are a dishonest Florida dealer your customers can file a financial claim against your Florida dealer bond or irrevocable letter of credit. If you operate your Florida dealership with the highest ethical standards and disclose all mechanical flaws to your customers before the sale, you should never have to worry about financial claims against your Florida Dealer bond or irrevocable letter of credit.
Before you are granted a Florida Dealer License, you must show the State of Florida that you have an active Florida Dealer Garage Insurance Policy. Florida Dealer insurance will protect your customers when they are taking your demonstration units for a test drive. It is a very specialized insurance that must be carried by every Florida Dealer. If you are a non franchised Florida dealer selling used vehicles you will need $25,000 combined single limit coverage, $25,000 property damage coverage, and $10,000 personal injury protection. If you are a franchised Florida Dealer selling new motor vehicles you will need $25,000 combined single limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage with $10,000 of personal injury protection. Obtain your Florida Dealer Insurance by clicking here.
Before you are issued a Florida Dealers License you must register your business name with the Florida Secretary of States Division of Corporations. The Florida Secretary of State wants to know every business that is operating within the State of Florida. You may file articles of incorporation or just do a simple fictitious name registration. Be sure to consult with an attorney that specializes in Florida Motor Vehicle laws to find out what type of business registration is best for your dealership. You can file your business names at www.sunbiz.org. Be sure to include proof of registration with your Florida Dealer License Application packet. If you incorporate your Florida dealership you must include the Florida Articles of Incorporation with your FL Dealer License application packet.
All dealers must attend the state mandated Florida Dealer Educational course before you are granted a Florida Dealer License. The Florida Dealer Class is a two day course that will last a total of 16 hours. In your Florida Dealer Class you will learn about Florida motor vehicle dealer laws, Federal dealer compliance, how to report sales, etc. Approved Florida Dealer License providers are listed below. Be sure to include your FL Dealer Class Certificate of Completion in your dealer application packet.
1656 Linda Lou Drive
West Palm Beach, Florida 33415
Florida Auto Dealer School
6822 22nd Avenue North, PMB # 117
St. Petersburg, Florida 33710
Dealer Consulting Services, Inc.
7537 NW 7th Avenue
Miami, Florida 33150
6000 Metro West Blvd. Suite 200 Online Classes only
Orlando, Florida 32835
Florida Dealer Schools, Inc.
7880 West Oakland Park Boulevard, Suite 304
Sunrise, Florida 33351
West Palm Beach: 561-961-1465
You must apply for and obtain a Florida Sales Tax Number before you obtain your Florida Dealer License. You can download complete Florida Sales Tax instructions here.
You show the State of Florida that you have a Federal Tax ID Number. Applying for a Federal Tax Identification Number is free and can be done at www.taxformw9.com. Be sure to include your Federal Tax Identification Number with your Florida Dealer Application
The State of Florida requires you to follow all Federal Dealer Compliance issues. Learn about important Federal Compliance in your ADTA Dealer Ethics, Profit, and Compliance manual.
You must submit fingerprint cards before you get your Florida Dealers License. The State of Florida wants to make sure you have no substantial criminal history before you obtain an FL Dealers License. You can obtain fingerprint cards at any Florida Department of Motor Vehicles office. Click here to locate a Florida DMV Office near you.
The State of Florida charges Florida dealers to pay a $300 Florida State Dealer License fee for each main location. You should call 850-617-3003 before sending in your Dealer Application to make sure you are writing your check for the correct amount. Incorrect fees can lead to extensive delays in obtaining your Florida license. Make you checks payable to DHSMV.
When you have completed all the steps above be sure to call 850-617-3003 to make sure you are including all the correct documents and license fees. Then mail your completed Florida Dealer License Application, license fees, original surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit, copy of proof of ownership or lease, copy of Florida dealer training certificate of completion, copy of fictitious name registration and/or articles of incorporation, copy of corporate papers if incorporated, Florida sales tax number, Federal Tax ID number, and fingerprint cards to:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Dealer Licensing Section MS 65
Neil Kirkman Building A312
2900 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399